All the pieces you threw away, I picked them up by night and day

All the pieces you threw away, I picked them up by night and day.
I tended to your brokenness, and I urged you to be better. You kept walking up to strangers offering pieces of your broken self. Time and time again I watched you break yourself again.
You were a crumbling cracking walking skeleton. Like a porcelain doll who fell from the shelf, that someone had hastily put back together. The strangers you gave yourself to threw your precious pieces away.
All the pieces you threw away I picked them up by night and day.
You pressed on, and despite your brokenness like a beggar, you kept giving bits of you to others who had their own broken selves.
You crumbled and cracked, but you never looked back.
All the pieces you threw away, I picked them up by night and day.
Moving from place to place and heart to heart.
I saw you as you are.
Did I shudder, did I shirk?
All the pieces you threw away, I picked them up by night and day.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

